Research Methods

(1) What kind of topics are you interested in researching?

Topics: Suspensions and Expulsions students from the school are they really necessary? What alternatives can be used? (B) Private Schools vs Public Schools, (C) How to stay sober? (D) Zero-tolerance Policy, (E) Schools working on raising a learning disabled child’s self-esteem, (F) Research Projects for learning disabilities and behaviors.

(2) What initial research questions might be starting to emerge for you?

(A) What is the difference between private schools and public schools? (B) Is there a right or wrong way of getting sober? (C) Do Educational Projects really work? (D) How can children with learning disabilities survive after graduating from high school? (E) Why was the zero-tolerance policy put into law and why? (F) How can schools raise a learning disabled child’s self-esteem?

(3) What are you interested in researching – people, groups, communities, documents, images, organizations? 

Most of my topics that I will be researching on will be basically on schools, education, learning disabilities, self-esteem, Life for a learning disabled individual after graduation from high school, Learning Disabilities communities including a school called Denver Academy. I will be including images of kids, schools, etc… so others will understand why that image was placed in the paper. 

(4) Do you have an initial idea for the kinds of methods that might help you gather useful knowledge in your area of interest?

My method will be getting online and researching various topics I have already mentioned in question #1 and #2. I look for hours on information that I am reading about, write it down with the correct citations and then I take out some paper and write down what I want to say and then type it up. Have a mentor read it and give me ideas on what I should do and then come home and make the necessary corrections and turn the final draft in. 

(5) What initial questions do you have about those methods? What don’t you understand yet?

My question would be; does it really matter what method is used? 

(6) Do you perceive any potential challenges in your initial ideas: (a) practical challenge, (b) conceptual challenges.

To be honest, there are not any challenges to speak of quite yet, but since I was diagnosed with having a form of learning disabilities when I was at an early age, I will have to work twice as hard and twice as long to keep up with others and to meet deadlines that I might have. 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.